Don’t tell me how to feel unless you’ve walked in my shoes

People assume the only way they can hurt you is by beating you, cheating on you or directly insulting you, and if they aren’t doing those things they must be treating you well, but the truth of the matter is that just isnt the case. The truth is the small things that go unnoticed are what hurt the most. The things you don’t see because when you do them I go on and keep quiet, and even if I speak up you disregard them, see them as minor, unimportant, that there isn’t a possibility those things could affect me or that they should. But the reality of it is, you don’t have the right to tell me how I feel or what should or shouldn’t hurt me. You can’t even comprehend what I’ve endured, and therefore will never understand why the most miniscule thing to you hurts me so badly. Me opening up to you and you shutting it down, you not emotionally being there for me cuts deeper than a few bruises, and I can say that because I’ve experienced that too. And the truth is all of this shows how little you really know me. I could spell it out for you, and you wouldn’t see me because you’re not really looking, not trying to. If you were you would listen, at least try to understand why I feel the way I do rather than telling me when I should or shouldn’t. And then when you tell me you love me maybe I would actually believe you….

Leave a Reply

