Always on the side

I’m never the one that’s cheated on, yet I’m always the one who’s cheated with, and what most people don’t realize is that that hurts just as much if not more. Because in the end you’re the one they go back to, regret losing, want to be with, and me? I’m just the mistake, and once the truth unravels I’m the one left alone. Turns out I was the whole time. All I had was a presence there to ease the pain, escape from that reality..if only for a moment. I don’t have someone who can’t help but look at me in awe, smile when they see my face, put me first…someone to care. All I have are people whose only thought that crosses their mind when it comes to me is how great I’d be to have for that one night. See the thing is you’re the one they mourn over, wish they’d never messed up with because you’re the “real thing”. And me? I’m the regret, the mistake that messed all of that up. Although this may sound crazy, I’d much rather be on the other side of the equation because then at least I’d have something, have someone…It’s better to have that and lose it than to never have it at all.

Leave a Reply

